WHO SHE IS

  • Robyn Carlton
  • 23 Years Old
  • From Oakville, ON, CAN
  • Currently living in Hua Hin, Thailand

WHAT SHE DOES

Blogging (writing) and Photography!

HER VIBE

I have been blogging since December and I took an interest in photography when I was in grade 9 (2008/9)

WHY?

I chose to start blogging because I feel that every single day flies by while living abroad and I want to be able to remember all of the best moments, as well as have the opportunity to share my experiences with family and friends back home!

I enjoy sharing my photography on social media because I want to open others eyes to the beauty that lies around the world. I want to inspire others to leave their home country and explore the cultures and traditions of others.

NOM NOM NOM

Oh goodness, as if I could choose just one. Can it be a meal? Maybe a full day meal plan?

I have to say that I miss avocado on sprout toast with a slice of tomato and a poached egg for breakfast. I definitely miss burritos and nachos. In Thailand, however, I have discovered my love for Tom Yum soup and Kra Pao Kai Dao (Fried Egg ontop)

WHAT DO YOU DO WHEN YOU’RE NOT DOING WHAT YOU DO?

Starting January 30th I will be doing an in-class TESOL course here in Thailand to obtain my certification to teach English. Currently, however, I just enjoy being on the beach reading books galore, or lazing around at home watching Netflix and working out (the occasional time)

WHERE ARE YOU HEADED?

I really want to travel the surrounding areas of Thailand – Cambodia, Vietnam, Myanmar, Indonesia, etc. But I also really want to travel to South Africa. I met my boyfriend here in Thailand, he is from South Africa, and I have heard the most amazing things about SA. The photos look beautiful and the food is apparently absolutely to die for. Definitely on my list of places I need to travel to!

WHY MUSE?

I want to share my craft because I want others to know what is possible. I came to Thailand thinking that I would only be partaking in a 3-month internship, traveling for a month, and then heading home to my normal life routine. As soon as I had spent 2 weeks in Thailand, I knew that I wanted to stay here for much longer. The company I interned for was a company that placed English teachers throughout Thailand, and I was absolutely inspired after working with and speaking to these individuals. I want to share my experiences and the photographs of the breathtaking temples, mosques, sunsets, etc. and inspire others to get out there and explore this beautiful world we live in.

TELL US MORE THOUGH

I just graduated from the University of Guelph in April 2016 with a major in Psychology and a minor in Family & Child Studies. I had obtained a job working in the child psychiatric inpatient unit at a hospital in my town and discovered that it just wasn’t for me. Moving to Thailand was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I am happier than I have ever been before, I feel less anxiety and depression on a day to day basis, and I feel I will truly be making a difference in peoples lives. I have the opportunity to teach English to children around Thailand and help them grow and develop. I’m not sure what my long term goals are quite yet, but I definitely know that there are many places on this side of the world that I absolutely want to explore. I love getting enveloped in the culture of each town I visit. I felt that I was not going to get the opportunity to just take a break and do something I would really enjoy. I went straight in to university from high school and straight in to my ‘big girl job’ from university. Moving to Thailand allowed me to explore myself and figure out what I really want to do at this time in my life.

I have an absolute dog obsession – I quite miss my little pudgy pug Lucky back home – although all of the loving street dogs here help mend my heart. The dogs here, although some may be struggling, just want some love, attention, and food.

I absolutely hate the cold – hence why I boycotted Canada’s rough winter – and I am soaking up all of the lovely sweatiness that comes with the humidity and overall heat here in Thailand. I couldn’t be happier living a 5-minute walk from the white sand, blue water beach down the road.

Follow Robyn here or on Instagram @robyncarlton 🙂

Leave a Reply

